Jamaica Banks on Experienced Co-operative Championship Talent

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to Google Buzz Send Gmail

The Jamaican Rugby League Association have continued their preparation for the 2010 ‘Hotels of Jacksonville’ Atlantic Cup with the announcement of a 24 man squad for the tournament which takes place in Jacksonville, Florida from November 14th to 21st.

The reggae rugby boys will be looking to avenge a 37-22 defeat by the USA Tomahawks in the augural Cup last year but will also facing the threat of Canada this time round who have entered the fray.

The Jamaicans warmed up for the Cup with a successful tour to the United Kingdom in August. The side suffered a defeat at the hands of the Great Britain Lions but left England smiling after a pulsating 22-12 victory over Super League powerhouse Hull FC in the Carnegie 9s. Meanwhile, USA defeated Canada 22-16 in an international played in Toronto in September.

The Jamaicans will play their first match against the Tomahawks on Tuesday November 16, at Hodges Stadium. They close their campaign on Thursday November 18 against Canada at the same venue. JRLA Director of Rugby Romeo Monteith believes the Jamaicans will do well.

“It’s a great time for Rugby League in the Americas,” he said. “I think Jamaica will be competitive. The boys are very mindful of our fans and two major sponsors, Virgin Atlantic and Kukri sport, who have contributed so much to put Jamaica RL on the map.”

Fourteen members of the squad play in the domestic league while Super League back rower Lamont Bryan of Harlequins is also included.

Jamaica National Rugby League Squad:

Ashley Johnson – Birmingham Bulldogs; Junior Henderson Brandford – Bramley Buffaloes; Andre Reid, Damon Gayle, Jermaine Pinnock, Roy Calvert, Romaen Campbell, Ryan Grant – Duhaney Park Red Sharks; Joseph Brown – Gateshead Thunder; Alexander Brown, Gregory Johnson – Huddersfield Giants; Waine Pryce – Hunslet Hawks; Jamaine Wray – Keighley Cougars; Paul White – Halifax; Lamont Bryan – Harlequins RL; Robert Rodney – Olympic Angels; Andrew Fong, Claude Yen, Carlye Burger, Jahdeek Clarke, Omar Jones, Sandino Hastings, Tyrone Rowe – Vauxhall Vultures; Wayne Allen – York City Knights.