Saints turn out for Mike Bennett’s Testimonial Match

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to Google Buzz Send Gmail

Saints are expected to name a strong line-up for Michael Bennett’s Testimonial Game against Halifax tonight.

Sadly, injury forced Bennett’s retirement after the 2008 Super League season, leaving a void in Saints tackling armoury that has still to be completely filled.

My abiding memory of Bennett is of him striding over the try-line in the 2002 Grand Final to stun the Bradford Bulls. It was a crucial score by a player who to be fair troubled the scoreboard operators rarely.

Nonetheless Saints have missed the terrific tackling, enthusiasm and work-rate Bennett brought to the squad. It’s great to see that they are putting on this game for him and I hope the fans back it in force.

It will be a chance for fans to see the the remainder of Mick Potter’s 2010 ensemble as they tune-up for the engage Super League XV season. Potter will be hoping for another strong display following their Karalius Cup win at Widnes earlier in the week.

Potter has named the majority of players not featuring in Tuesday’s win, which means places for the likes of Paul Wellens, James Roby, Nick Fozzard and James Graham; whilst Leon Pryce will line up with Kyle Eastmond for the first time at half back in 2010.

Bennett who is also planning to don the Red Vee once more said:

“I’m delighted that both Saints and Halifax are playing strong sides in my honour. I’m also looking forward to having a run out myself!”

So, it on with strapping up the injured shoulder for one final fling on the famous Knowsley Road turf.


Saints from:

Ade Gardner, Andrew Dixon, Andy Yates, Chris Dean, Gary Wheeler, Jack Bradbury, Jake Emmitt, James Graham, James Roby, Jamie Foster, Jon Wilkin, Jonny Lomax, Kyle Eastmond, Leon Pryce, Matt Gidley, Matty Ashurst, Mike Bennett, Maurie Fa’asavalu, Nick Fozzard, Paul Johnson, Paul Wellens, Scott Moore, Shaun Magennis, Sia Soliola, Tony Puletua.

Halifax from:

1. Miles Greenwood, 2. Lee Paterson, 3. Jon Goddard, 4. Shad Royston, 5. James Haley, 6. Luke Branighan, 7. Ben Black, 8. Makali Aizue, 9. Sean Penkywicz, 10. Neil Cherryholme, 11. Dave Larder, 12. Stanley Gene, 13. Bon Beswick, 14. Mark Glesson, 15. Mark Roberts, 16. Said Tamghart, 17. Frank Watene, 18. Dylan Nash, 19. Dom Maloney, 20. Paul White, 21. Anthony Bowman, 22. Dave Wrench, 23. Rob Worrincy, 24. Stephen Bannister.


  • Kick off at 8pm,
  • Admission prices will be £15 (adults) for the Hattons Solicitors Stand and £12 for the ground and kids/concessions £10 and £5 respectively.
  • Mike Bennett’s Testimonial brochure will be on sale at the game.